Harry Potter Lesson Plans for Middle School: The Goblet of Fire

Harry Potter Lesson Plans for Middle School: The Goblet of Fire
Page content

As Harry begins his fourth year at Hogwarts, we see him stepping out of his childhood and into the world of teenagers. He is maturing significantly and in this novel, for the first time, we sense in him the adult he will someday become.

Themes and Characters

The novel does not center on Voldemort, for the most part, although he makes a shocking appearance at the end. When this novel was due to be released, there was a great buzz in the literary community. Rumors that Rowling would be killing off a major character in this book flooded newspapers and the internet. Then, then further rumors that from here to the end of the series, readers could expect a major character or characters death in each of the remaining novels filled Potter fans with anticipation as well as a tinge of dread.

One has to complete the entire book before learning just who dies at the hand of Voldemort. This shocking death of an innocent character aptly symbolizes the real horror that the Wizarding World feels for Lord Voldemort.

Harry’s Continued Growth and Development

It also captures the end of our child hero, Harry Potter, who is for the most part, alive because of his mother. He has no hard memory of seeing Voldemort kill his parents, but he sees the death of Cedric with his own eyes. No more can he even consider turning his back on the idea that he is perhaps the only one who can stop the Dark Lord. Now that Harry sees what Voldemort is capable of, he ceases to be a child who relies on others, becoming a fully adult literary figure who will face any challenge put before him.


This post is part of the series: Harry Potter Middle School Lesson Plans

Each article in this series covers one book in the Harry Potter collection and includes a PowerPoint download that will serve as a helpful teaching tool.

  1. 1. Teaching Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone
  2. 2. Teaching Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets
  3. 3. Teaching Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban
  4. 4. Teaching Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire
  5. 5. Teaching Harry Potter and The Order of the Phoenix
  6. 6. Teaching Harry Potter and The Half Blood Prince