English Lesson Plans for Middle School, Grades 6-8 (page: 2 of 36)

Most Recent

  • Anne Marries: Anne’s House of Dreams & Anne of Ingleside
    Anne's House of Dreams is book five and Anne of Ingleside is the sixth book in the Lucy Maud Montgomery series. Download the PowerPoint presentation to guide your class through these books and follow up with discussion, questions and journal entry assignments.
  • Anne of the Island and Anne of Windy Poplars
    Anne of the Island and Anne of Windy Poplars are the third and fourth books in the Anne series by Lucy Maud Montgomery. Download the PowerPoint files provided to use as a classroom teaching guide.
  • Anne of Green Gables and Anne of Avonlea
    Anne of Green Gables, written by Lucy Maud Montgomery, is the first in a series of eight books about her red headed heroine, Anne Shirley. Share the book or entire series with your middle school class using the PowerPoint download provided as your guide.
  • Anne’s Family Grows Up: Rainbow Valley & Rilla of Ingleside
    The final two books of the Anne series focus mainly on her children. Enjoy these fun and poignant novels with your classroom. Students will enjoy the stories and will also learn more about the time period.
  • Creating Holiday Poetry Using Iconic Images
    Writing poetry does not come easy to everyone. Ease your students into the process by having them model a poem after "The Christmas Night" by L. M. Montgomery, personalizing it by picking their own holiday theme. Downloadable assignment and powerpoint are included in this lesson.
  • The Gift of the Magi: Group Projects and Writing Prompts
    There is no story that exemplifies the Christmas spirit more than "The Gift of the Magi" by O. Henry. This lesson plan is great to use with eighth or ninth graders to get students into the spirit of the holidays. Downloadable group project and writing prompts included.
  • 6. Teaching Harry Potter and The Half Blood Prince
    It will likely be with mixed emotions that your students complete the final book in the Harry Potter series. Guide them through the novel with class discussions and conclude with a series recap.
  • 5. Teaching Harry Potter and The Order of the Phoenix
    As you continue to explore the Wizarding World of Harry Potter with your middle school students, plots and themes become deeper and darker. In this book, students will deal with topics including death and politics.
  • 4. Teaching Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire
    At this point in the series, your students are likely champing at the bit between books. Book four is certain to satisfy while keeping them hooked and this discussion guide will help you lead your class through the novel's key points.
  • 3. Teaching Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban
    As you move through the Harry Potter novel series with your middle school students, you will see both the characters and themes develop and change. This overview will help you guide your students through the third book in the collection.
(2 of 36)