written by: Deidra Alexander
• edited by: Noreen Gunnell
• updated: 8/2/2012
Following the law in the state where your homeschool exists prevents unwanted legal problems and expenses. Georgia homeschooling requirements inform parents about running a home study program within the rules to avoid unnecessary hurdles in teaching the child away from the public school setting.
slide 1 of 3
What to Expect
Georgia (GA) homeschooling requirements do not specify a necessary review or endorsement of any homeschool program.
A compulsory attendance law under GA homeschool requirements states that children between the ages of 6 and 16 must be in attendance at a public or private school or in a home study program.
Only parents can homeschool students in the state of Georgia. Parents and tutors must possess at least a high school diploma or a general educational development (GED) diploma.
The basic subjects of reading, mathematics, language arts, science, and social studies must be taught throughout the year. Naturally, other courses are permitted at the parent’s discretion.
The school year must run for the minimum of 180 days at 4.5 hours a day unless the student cannot physically endure such conditions.
Public school officials are disallowed the right to monitor any part of the homeschool in Georgia.
Application: A Declaration of Intent to Utilize a Home Study Program should list all students within the home study program, their ages, and the specific dates of the duration of the school year.
Submission Date: An intent to homeschool has to be turned into the Department of Education within 30 days of the implementation of the program as well as anually every year by September 1st.
Reporting forms for keeping up with attendance are obtainable from the Department of Education. Such reports are to be sent in monthly.
It's necessary to keep records of standardized testing for possible review.
Annual progress reports are to be maintained and turned in by the homeschooler. The state of Geoorgia suggests reports be kept on file for three years.
Standardized Testing: Beginning in the third grade, students have to be tested at least every three years with norm-referenced tests.
slide 3 of 3
Materials: Public schools do not have to furnish any materials for the purpose of curriculum or testing to homeschoolers in this state. Parents can choose their own texts and curriculums.
Re-admittance to Public School: Georgia law specifies that homeschoolers who return to public school must undergo review of performance for one or more grading periods or have their standardized testing scores used to qualify their course credits taken in a home study program. They may test to reenter and, once registered, they have to follow all guidelines for completion at the secondary level once back in public school.
A fine of up to $100.00 for breaking homeschool law is in effect in Georgia, classifiable as a misdemeanor charge in the jurisdiction of juvenile court.
Graduation: Stipulations for graduating from homeschool in Georgia are not listed publicly. Contact a local superintendent or the Georgia Department of Education for thorough information.
Financial Aid: Georgia does not publicly discuss financial aid options for homeschool parents leading to the assumption that the state does not assist in homeschooling at any level.
Special Education: The process of educating an exceptional child in a home study program is not available publicly. Inquire at the local education agency of the public school district nearest to your home for advice on providing a free and appropriate education in the least restrictive environment for students with special needs.